Me? A NIGGA!? 28th November 2011

 

Yeah, you heard me. This brown dude gon call me a nigga, what do I look like to you, American?! *BITCHSLAP

We are at a party, it was dark, really dark. And there was a projection of a clock on the wall. UBER COOL! There was so much smoke in the air, steam (from sweaty bodies) cigarette smoke (cause all Pakistanis smoke) and smoke from a veerrrrry suspect pipe that this guy kept offering me.

THEN

Someone in the dark called me a nigga, aw hell naw. *FINGERSNAP, BOOTYCLAP

2 YEARS BEFORE – 2009

I know 3 African Americans. I also know Riley and Huey Freeman.  This is my history with them.

 African American 1: I was at a party, and at some point, I denied the existence of anything like African American. I told her, ‘you are black American, not African American, there is no such thing as African American…’  *CRINGE I should have added, but that behind of yours is definitely from Uganda nyabo, you are just my size. (It works in Kampala)

African American 2: he never uses the N-word. He told me he doesn’t appreciate it when people use it either, whether they are black, white or Michael Jackson’s white wife’s kid.

Huey Freeman: Huey Freeman personifies African American 2. WORD

Riley Freeman: Riley Freeman is a NIGGA

PRESENT DAY: 2011

After the initial shock of being called a nigga, my homie went on to tell me, ‘yo, am a rapper my man. I grew up in Californiaayyay, I love rap music. Im just glad to see you man, cause back in Californiaayyay I knew a lot of niggas that was my friends dawg.’

Another time, some teen (many teens here are dumber than usual) on the road in baggy clothes said to me, ‘yo wasup holmie’. *FACEPALM

I am not American. I do not identify with the word nigga, I do not immediately identify with the African American racial struggles. I’m Kenyan, I am THE African. I am ORIGINAL BLACK.

These kids aren’t being racist at all; their perception of a black person is HEAVILY influenced by modern rap and hiphop. Considering Africa has 54 countries and 1 billion people, it’s sad that we are defined by 10 niggas ( Lil Wayne, Rick Ross, and the guys in their videos)

To be honest though, I don’t have an identity as a Kenyan (drop that Tusker, it doesn’t count). I used to wear an earring, in fact ICE (before I did an MJ and started wearing a loop). I don’t speak enough Kikuyu to be proud of. We don’t have a national dress (that ugly kitambaa we tried to come up with was a FAIL); saris don’t count and the outfits our mums wear are West African or Ugandan adaptations. If you want to see globalization, go to Kenya. Kaa chini weh maasai. (Anyway at least we have them and some scattered peoples up North who I – and probably you – forget about)

All I wanted to say that I am not a nigga, and I do not endorse the word; though once in a while I will listen to Rick Ross talking about eating chicken. SMH, now that’s a nigga.

DEFINITION OF A NIGGA: Blog Ping

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Me? A NIGGA!? 28th November 2011

  1. Angie Kagume says:

    LOL…I soooo get what you are talking about. People here generally tell me on Satu evenings, Angie, lets gO out! i know a club playing hip hop…..SMH

  2. savvy says:

    Interesting read

  3. wayward foe says:

    i agree that we really have almost no connection with that word and the history it carries. there’s even no common ancestry since the number of east african slaves taken to america was negligible. but for some reason whatever america portrays is what the world sees it happens everywhere. and i’m trying to convince myself that ignorance is not a sin, how many kenyans only think of eastern europe as the craphole they saw in euro trip for example. but its hard and irritating that people don’t know the differences that seem so very apparent to us who lived them

Leave a Reply

