Keeping it real

I love this library in Southwark London, well, maybe I don’t love it, but I find it interesting…and it’s not about the books, because they’re way too few, and I’m not much of a reader either – embarrassing ? Internet pseudo-philosophers, bloggers, amateur photobloggers, instagramers,  social commentators think so – and I realize I fall under most of these groups.

I like this library because I’m sitting at the window, and right in-front of me around a table are 5 older women, older meaning they are all at least 40, and some maybe heading towards 60. They have tea and biscuits in-front of them, and I wish I could take a picture of their faces as they read some book – or rather one lady reads aloud and the others I assume read along. They’re all in drab clothes, they’re ‘simple’ women, here for fellowship and hopefully a good book – a book club. I wish I could take a picture of it, not because it’s glamorous, not because they’re making duck faces and doing selfies ( that annoys the hell out of me and I don’t know why). I want to take the pictures because these women are real.

I like this library because there’s a mysterious guy at the counter, with a hoody on, mysterious because I can’t see his face, and because when the librarian asked him his name, he said he doesn’t like saying his name in public, and would rather write it down. Ironically he speaks loudly.

I like taking pictures of real people.  I like photos of real moments.

Here they are on facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

