Slow Motion

Technologically, I have always been a laggard…

…or maybe, that’s not true…I remember once I had Car magazines, I could tell you about horsepower and what cars went how fast. It was a very short phase though. There were just 4 car magazines though, so maybe I had just crammed them.

Then there was the time I taught myself to use powerpoint, we had a computer, and i wanted to make something for my mum or her business or something. I was maybe 10, but I found it pretty easy and i really liked those bean things, those black stickmen.

screen beans

I also had a phase of fixing things around the house, I remember opening sockets, opening remotes, opening bells, opening melody cards, and figuring them all out. I even dreamed once of building my own toy car with a motor (why did we used to call them ‘mortar’)  I’d removed from a broken toy. I remember that I learnt how to fix remotes, after I smashed ours (temper) and lied that I fell with it. I could fix remotes after that.

Years passed and suddenly I remember being a teenager, and my friends laughing at me when I asked how many songs could fit on a CD (750mb). They laughed because I measured electronic capacity in songs, the way some people measure bandwidth with YouTube. I remember using floppy disks late in life, didn’t really ever upgrade to flashdisks until I inherited one, it was like 14Mb, it was purple, and ironically, it was really big.

There were phones too, and again, in no rush or desire to get a ‘proper’ phone, I inherited my first one…well, it’s not like I had the money to buy a phone anyway so inheritance was the only option. It was an Ericsson T.18. It was a flip phone, remember flip phones? You could only read SMS in a line, from left to right, and back again.

t 18

My T.18 suffered a great many falls, and the flip broke off, I reconnected it with a toothpick. So now I always had a toothpick with me, one for fixing my spectacles (the screw had come off) and one for fixing my T.18. In the days Nokia had started releasing 8800’s and those big numbers (not N-64 and Lumia like today),  my T.18 died. I remember picking her up (to answer a call), inserting the toothpick, and hitting the green button, but all I could hear was ‘Skrrrrrrrrr,skurrrrrrrrrr’, then she died. I could never let go of phones where texts were read side to side after that.

When I finally recovered in uni, my first smart phone (inherited)… was a Chinese affair. It had flashy lights too and a split personality. One day, she decided to become an i-phone, out of the blue the screen brought on a ‘Slide to unlock’ icon; in those days, that seemed to be Apple copyright. Those were the days Ciku, the girl who gave me such a silly boyish crash, was the only person who had an i-phone (which she used to hide)…Ciku was always soo cool…and hot…anyway, so this Chinese phone inheritance, was loud and large, it was touch screen but it also had a stylus and was once an iphone. That’s extremely remarkable, switching O.S like that, that is some astronomically advanced technology, you and your S4 mini.

It’s 2014, I wonder whether Ciku still uses an iphone. But I came here to say that I am a laggard, I just downloaded whatsapp. And I just started using a fully touch screen phone.

But I’m older now, and I feel nothing for being a laggard…why? Because, this is delayed pleasure. While you early adopters have long lived out your excitement, I am just discovering how great whatsapp and a fully touch screen phone is.(it’s annoying how slowly I type now though),  I am that kid who gets the last lollipop. In any context, the last lollipop always looks better than yours. The last piece of nyamchom, that’s what I’m eating.

You’re feeling kiwaru.

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “Slow Motion

  1. Haha! Ati We’re feeling kiwaru! LOL. When I first saw this title I immediately thought of

    https://www.google.co.ke/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=5&cad=rja&ved=0CDwQtwIwBA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DBumcoxotNb0&ei=7NkCU67YDZDB7Aal0IF4&usg=AFQjCNHYzoIBZTNWltxQFg5UItX3_3zQug&bvm=bv.61535280,d.ZGU

    Wait did I do that right? 🙂
    You had an Ericsson T.18, dude that was stunting!
    The CD thing tho’ (Tsk tsk)

    Top of the morning!!!

  2. waywardfoe says:

    i remember the toothpicks those were always in your glasses. take it from a fellow laggard though you get to typing really fast on a touch screen in a very short time

  3. I once had a Chinese phone too.. a Nokla N95:

    What you had was a hi-Phone!

  4. If you had a photo of the phone we would comment appropriately *hides

Leave a Reply

